Coping with Grief through CounselingGrief is a reaction to loss that can include a wide range of feelings, thoughts, and behaviors. Grief is experienced differently by each person according to his or her culture, background, gender, beliefs, personality, and relationship to the deceased or loss. Grief counseling can help to make sense of these complex emotions.

Feelings common to grief can include sadness and yearning. Guilt, regret, anger, and a sense of meaninglessness may also be present. Some people may also a feel a sense of relief and liberation. Emotions can be surprising in their strength or mildness, contrary to the expectations of the griever; they can also be very confusing.

Stages of Grief

DENIAL: A refusal to believe or accept what has happened.
ANGER : Blaming others for the loss. Blaming oneself for the loss.
BARGAINING: This can involve bargains with oneself, or with God.
DEPRESSION : Listlessness, tiredness, a feeling of being punished.
ACCEPTANCE: Realizing that life goes on, thereby allowing yourself to heal.

You should be aware that there are differing viewpoints on the validity of these stages of grief, and we present them here only to help you identify and work through your loss. The important thing to remember is that what you are feeling is personal and may or may not be identified by the words written here.

Ways we can help

  • Learn about the grief process
  • Recognize the normal expressions of grief
  • Recognize, express, and accept your feelings
  • Develop new coping skills
  • Recognize your strengths and limitations
  • Identify your circle of support
  • Grow personally and reinvest in life
Contact Us

Coping With Grief?

Speak with someone about how to deal with these confusing emotions.

Contact Us